Aisling Strikes Comedy Gold At Gilded Balloon

24th August 2012

Irish actress and comedy writer Aisling Bea beat stiff competition from eight of Britain and Ireland’s strongest new talents to be crowned winner of Edinburgh Fringe Festival’s leading stand-up comedy competition, ‘Foster’s So You Think You’re Funny?

Each act was given just eight minutes to stake their claim for the prestigious title and, after a period of tense and tough deliberation from the experienced judging panel which included Gilded Balloon’s Artistic Director, Karen Koren and celebrity judge Ruby Wax, Aisling was awarded the coveted title, a cash prize and a trip to perform at Montreal’s world-famous Just For Laughs Festival.

Now in its 25th year and a Gilded Balloon ‘institution’, previous ‘So You Think You’re Funny?’ competition winners include Lee Mack, Peter Kay, Rhona Cameron, Tommy Tiernan, Miles Jupp, Dylan Moran and 2011 winner Tommy Rowson.

This year the search for the best comedy newcomer took competition organisers from the Gilded Balloon to regional heats in Brighton, Bristol, Dublin, Glasgow, Inverness, Leeds, London, Manchester, Newcastle and Sutton Coldfield.